What was it like in Black and White?

This photo was taken just past the 21st Ave intersection at Hillsboro Village. It reminds me of the way that Pamuk discusses Black and White. He sees Istanbul as a city in black and white. When I think of things in black and white, I usually connect something negative, or old with it. However, Pamuk loves this feature of his city. He embraces the general haze over the city and the attitudes of the citizens who embrace it. This photo makes me think of what Vanderbilt might have been like when this car was brand new. Vanderbilt, at that time, is just a story to me. I want to know what it was like in a time that I consider to be black and white, however, not in a negative way. Because Pamuk looks at black and white in a positive way, I am beginning to do the same. Maybe this era of black and white had things that I would have enjoyed. The simplicity of certain aspects of life. At the same time, there are negative things that go along with that era, especially social issues. While the car is ascetically beautiful, it is not as reliable or fuel efficient as a modern car. So in many ways, the black and white era had its advantages, but also its disadvantages to today. By looking at those advantages as Pamuk did, I can better appreciate the past, and enjoy looking this car even more, not just for its looks, but also for what it represents, and how far we have come since that time. 

Leave a Reply

