Shadows

The concept of scars emerged as one I felt compelled to explore further. In Chapter 21, Perec comments that his scar “became a personal mark, a distinguishing feature (though it is not entered as a ‘distinguishing mark’ on my identity card” (108). I found myself scanning myself for any sort of scars relevant to my life. The only slightly visible scar is a small mark on my left eyebrow from when I banged by forehead on a coffee table as a toddler. I have no memory of this or even of the house in which it happened. This scar is just a small mark on my face rather than a “distinguishing mark” or even a distinguishing moment in my life. However, while walking to class I noticed the amount of shadows striking the pavement. For me I saw these shadows as scars in their own. Though not permanent, the shadows that cross the sidewalks of the trees appear to be their own type of scars. Furthermore, our own shadows that creep across the paths we take leave a scar of places we’ve been and seen and experiences we have had. The picture above was taken on the path I take to and from my Spanish class in Wilson. Though there are many paths to Wilson, I consistently take the same path into the building, the further path near the left, each of the four times I travel there during the week. Although this path for me is simply a way for me to reach my destination, the scars I leave with my shadows along the paths on campus are all a part of my broader experience at Vanderbilt. Something as simple as a shadow can resonate as so much more in terms of our own identities.

Leave a Reply

